Where it all Started
Murphys Geelong was originally built in 1855, the post gold-rush hotel building boom era and was originally named The Argyle Hotel.
In 1859, the Geelong Football Club was formed in the Argyle Tavern at the Club first board meeting. The Argyle ground (Located behind the Pub and between Aberdeen and Pakington streets) was to be the Club’s home ground for some years before it came to an abrupt end in 1878 when the ground’s owner, Silas Harding received a bill for unpaid rates, which the club had forgotten to pay. Harding was so angry, he ploughed up the field and cut down the goal posts. As a result, the club moved to East Geelong in the Eastern Park to a picturesque site known as Corio Oval, a matter of a few kicks of the football from Corio Bay.